Ruined Reflections

Ruined Reflection, Austin Skyline, Panorama stitched from 3 HDR frames, 45mm, f/8

On a still day Austin’s Lady Bird Lake (still Town Lake to me) is a great spot to shoot the growing skyline (note yet another construction crane gracing the view) and get great reflections off the water.  I met an out-of-town friend at Lou Neff Point this morning and was surprised to find that the lake was completely overgrown with a plant called Eurasian Water Milfoil.  In hindsight I might have expected it as we had seen a lot of milfoil while kayaking on the lake recently but even then I wouldn’t have expected so much of it on the surface.  Adding to the disappointment was that the forecast of “some clouds in the morning” wasn’t to be (until well after sunrise anyway).

Well, we were there and figured we might as well shoot some “stuff”.  We fought off the mosquitos and fired away.  I decided to shoot a panorama in order to increase the resolution a bit.  I shot 3 frames — each bracketed +/-1 stop — and used Nik HDR Efex Pro to create very subtle (IMO) HDR images.  Photoshop stitched them together nicely and I used several curves and saturation adjustment layers to tweak the final image.

4 responses

  1. I love the colors! Fantastic photo!

    June 30, 2012 at 7:06 am

  2. Frustrating isn’t Michael. We have a waterplant here that rises to the surface at night and then sinks again during the day, I have no idea why. Anyway it took a few fruitless cold mornings before that little bit of reality sank in.

    June 30, 2012 at 7:25 am

    • Yes! I get to this area all the time but I won’t bother with the camera until later in the year when the water clears up again.

      July 2, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Leave a Reply

