The Heavens Are Telling The Glory Of God

200mm, f/32, 1/80s, ISO 100

We went out to watch the eclipse with another family tonight.  I lugged the camera and lenses out just in case I wanted to get pictures of the kids with their funny eclipse glasses, etc.  At first I didn’t bother to get it out and just snapped iPhone shots of the kids but on a whim I decided to play around with pictures of the eclipse.  While the sun was high I started with f/32, 1/8000s with a polarizing filter (just to close down two more stops) and even then the sun was completely blown out.  As the sun neared the horizon I was able to remove the polarizer, open up the shutter a bit, and get a silhouette of the horizon and some color in the sky.  Not bad for just fiddling around on a whim.  An improvement might have been to open up the aperture to a point where the lens tends to be sharper but once the sun nears the horizon around here it drops like a rock so I didn’t bother with that…I just kept clicking the remote here and there to capture different stages of the sunset/eclipse.  Processing was spot removal and noise reduction in Lightroom.

4 responses

  1. Wow…beautiful shot and lucky you…we had clouds here today so missed out….as always your images are amazing:)

    May 20, 2012 at 10:53 pm

  2. Definitely not bad for fiddling around a whim. 😉 I think it’s pretty fantastic.

    May 21, 2012 at 8:12 am

  3. Thanks! Im really glad I had the camera along and decided to play with it. I didn’t realize that I’d be able to stop down enough to record it until I actually tried.

    May 21, 2012 at 8:21 pm

  4. dianne

    great shot, its beautiful.. : )

    May 28, 2012 at 11:45 am

Leave a Reply

