Missing The Snow

I never thought I’d say it, but after the heat today I wouldn’t mind being back in the snow (grass is greener thing).  In March we enjoyed some tubing at Snoqualmie Pass in Washington.  Some of us really didn’t have the clothes for it but we made do and decided to tough it out — it was great.  Given our snow activities I only brought along an old point-and-shoot for the actual tubing part, but the portrait at the top was taken with my DSLR on a tripod.  The idea with the tripod was that I would be in the picture as well, using the remote to trigger the shutter.  I couldn’t get the remote to work, however, and it was too far of a run around the snow piles to use the timer…AND I really didn’t feel like explaining to any passers-by how I wanted the shot composed (rarely seems to work out).  The little ones were freezing and were just ready to be done anyway.  For the other shots the point-and-shoot worked fine — mostly.  The main problem I had was that the white balance was all over the place and made each shot look like entirely different light.  I got a few “action” shots but just liked the “environmental portraits” better.

Relaxing On The “Lift”

It’s A Long Walk When You Wipe Out And Have To Fetch Your Tube

6 responses

  1. Great photos. Looks fun. However, don’t miss the snow. We actually got more snow yesterday evening and it’snot fun waking up to snow on the ground inn May..

    May 6, 2012 at 12:29 am

    • Just a few minutes in the snow and I’m missing the warm weather 🙂 Having grown up in Chicago I got my fill of cold and snow! I wouldn’t want to see snow in May either.

      May 8, 2012 at 9:39 am

  2. Ohhh, looks like so much fun to be had!

    May 6, 2012 at 7:26 pm

  3. Pingback: Missing The Beach Now… « Michael Tuuk Photography

  4. I remember that place. I went there as part of my fifth anniversary tour of the United States back in 1999. What a year that was. Excepting Olympic National Park, Snoqualmie was my favorite place. We stayed at Salish Lodge. Awesome place. Being the train fan that I am, though, my favorite was the Puget Sound and Snoqualmie Valley Railroad.

    May 17, 2012 at 7:23 pm

Leave a Reply

