Will My Photos Be Treasured For Generations?

I LOVE old family pictures and recently received this one from my father.  In this Tolsma family photo is my paternal grandmother (standing on the left) with her parents and siblings.  My great-grandfather passed away in 1935 but my great-grandmother (wearing glasses) lived until my high school years and my siblings and I were fortunate to know her.  I’m guessing this photo would have been taken in the mid to late 1920s based on my grandmother’s age and the age of her youngest brother (born 1924 I believe).  My great grandparents both came from the Netherlands at a young-ish age and married in Minnesota.  As a kid I remember my father talking about all his aunts and uncles but I was generally confused — couldn’t remember who was who, etc.  Now that I’m grown I wish I knew so much more about all the family history.

One thing I notice when looking at this portrait is the amazing resemblance between the members of the Tolsma family and the descendants I grew up with — brothers, sisters, cousins, more distant cousins, my own children — I see all their faces in these faces.  Kind of weird, but in a cool, amazing way.

For family reunions my maternal grandfather has written up and handed out a history of their family and we really enjoy it.  I’m inspired to write one about our family and update it over the years.  Even if our life seems rather mundane at present, I’m certain that future generations will appreciate having it preserved and shared with them.   I hope that the pictures I’m taking (like our family portrait below) are treasured by those born many, many generations from now in the same way I treasure the photo above.

Family Portrait

7 responses

  1. Lovely post. It’s nice to read your thoughts and both family portraits are wonderful. Love the matching colors in the outfits in the last one by the way 🙂

    May 2, 2012 at 11:34 pm

    • Thanks, Inga! I had to photoshop one of the shirts in the bottom photo to get them *all* to match.

      May 3, 2012 at 4:58 pm

  2. Wow, what a large family! Beautiful. You know, I can see some resemblance between you and your great grandmother.

    May 8, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    • Thanks, never a dull moment around our house with the crowd we’ve got 🙂

      May 9, 2012 at 9:29 pm

  3. I pity the person(s) who might be searching through my hundreds of thousands (I’m up to 74,000 right now) of photos when I’m gone. lol

    May 17, 2012 at 7:30 pm

  4. david stanton

    hi i am teaching a photography class in glasgow scotland and would love to show these two images as part of a social photography unit are you ok with me showing these lovely images many thanks david stanton photographer and lecturer oh and one last thing if you are ok with that can i ask date of more recent image just to show the comparison in styles over the years thank you

    March 15, 2014 at 7:01 am

    • David,

      I sent a reply directly to your email address.

      Thanks,

      Mike

      March 16, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

