Big Brother Is Home!

Getting Bounced 50mm, f/2.8, 1/800s, ISO 100

One of the first requests the little brothers make when big brother comes home is “Come jump on the trampoline!!!”.  The boys love their older brother and he indulges them completely.  Today they enjoyed another fun jumping session on the trampoline while I snapped away.  In some of the pictures you can see the joy and awe the younger boys feel when watching big brother.  After a while my 7-year old even showed some sweet skills of his own too.

Photo stuff…flash would have been ideal but I wanted a really fast shutter speed.  I don’t have the stuff to do a high-speed sync setup with parallel flashes, nor would I have bothered anyway.  I shot in manual mode and in motion situations like this with such a high dynamic range you just have to pick your exposure based on what will keep the most important details.  Sometimes you hit it, sometimes not.  Sometimes the subject is in shadow and you lose details to shadows, sometimes (like when the faces are pointed to the sun in these shots) you lose detail to blown-out highlights.  I gambled with f/2.8 to allow the fast shutter without going way up on ISO and to get some blur in the background but my focus distance was far enough that my DOF was fine (and I didn’t get much blur).  All that sounds like I went through a bunch of “photo stuff” to set up for a photo shoot but frankly I just quickly chimped a few shots to pick an exposure — all of that is a 20-second thought process then I fired away.

5 responses

  1. Simply gorgeous!

    April 7, 2012 at 8:30 am

  2. Cheri G

    I love the shadow in the third photo!

    April 7, 2012 at 7:03 pm

  3. Fun shots Michael, looks like all had fun!

    April 10, 2012 at 2:15 pm

  4. I challenge anyone to look through these and not smile. Wonderful set and the expressions on all of their faces are golden. A great keepsake.

    April 16, 2012 at 11:08 pm

    • The kids had a blast with these and the younger ones are already talking about the next trampoline “photoshoot” — they want to get pictures of them going even higher!

      April 17, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Leave a Reply

