Kayak Trip To Secret Falls, Kauai

I apologize for some not-so-great pictures included in this post — they were taken with an old, low-ish resolution, waterproof point and shoot camera that I borrowed for our trip.  I made sure that the lens was dry before using it but it didn’t handle glare from the sun very well.  Had I been aware of that I would have shaded the lens whenever I shot into the sun.

Should you ever happen to visit the Hawaiian island of Kauai I highly recommend taking a kayak trip up the Wailua River to Secret Falls (some call it Sacred Falls).  Actually, you have to kayak AND hike but it’s well worth it.  The kayak part is roughly 2 miles each way if memory serves me correctly and the hike is a pretty easy 3/4 of a mile.  Overall the trip takes 4-5 hours.  We used Ali’i Kayaks and our guide was TC.  He was great.  There was the usual tour guide humor but also a lot of interesting information.  He answered all sorts of random questions from us as we hiked.

The outfitter provided dry bags for each couple (just happened to be all couples in our group) in which we could pack a lunch to be eaten at the falls and whatever else we wanted.  I packed my Canon 5D Mkii in a dry bag that I brought, then put that inside the other dry bag.  I didn’t know what to expect at the falls but decided to pack the DSLR.  I did not pack the tripod.  After some quick paddling instruction from the guide — several of our group had never been on a kayak before — we paddled upstream.  Along the way we viewed several movie filming locations but the only two I remember are one where Indiana Jones was running from the natives through the jungle and a village which was used to film the African village scene in the movie Outbreak.  We beached the kayaks, hiked to the falls, and hung out for nearly an hour to eat lunch, wade (people like me) or swim if you were crazy (my wife and sister-in-law) as the water was freezing.  I got someone to take our picture…from the instruction I had to give I wonder if he’d ever used a camera 🙂  The shot below doesn’t give a sense of how tall the falls are given the wide-angle lens used.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6873738470/in/photostream

Secret Falls, Kauai 24mm, f/5, 1/320s, ISO 400

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6873740210/in/photostream

2 responses

  1. For sure on our next trip to Kauai..we missed this before!

    March 27, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    • I highly recommend it! It’s a beautiful trip, good exercise, and there’s much to learn. I hope I have a “next” trip to Kauai too.

      March 28, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Leave a Reply

