Playing In The Snow

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6834874214/in/photostream

Snow Portrait 70mm, f/8, 1/125s, ISO 400, flash

We played in the snow today — quite a change from the warm, Texas weather.  While I have no interest in living in a snowy climate again I do enjoy getting in the snow every once in a while.  I took five of my children up to Stevens Pass in Washington for the express purpose of playing in the snow.  There has been all sorts of snow up there in the past few days so we knew it would be fun.  Things looked even better when it began snowing in the Seattle area before we even left the house.

After getting all wet and cold we headed back down the mountain and explored some side roads to enjoy the scenery.  At one spot my daughter (the one in the picture above) pointed out a spot she thought would be nice for a group photo (below).  At another nearby spot she asked me to take a few pictures of her in front of a bridge and the snow-covered trees (no one else wanted to get out of the car again).

Photo stuff…In the group photo below you can see the snow falling in front of our faces — we wanted to show the extent of the falling snow.  However, in the individual shots we wanted to avoid the snow in the face and found a space under some trees which allowed that.  However, it was so dark that we had to add some flash into the mix (no gels used).  With the others waiting in the car I didn’t spend much time perfecting things but we like what we got.

The odd composition above came from just moving around trying different things out.  I don’t like it…but my daughter does so I’m posting that one.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6834915050/in/photostream

Snowy Group Portrait 70mm, f/6.3, 1/125s, ISO 640, no flash

4 responses

  1. Both a wonderful portrait and family portrait. The lighting is so perfect in the first. I’m with you…no desire to spend months in that stuff, but it sure is cool on occasions.

    March 13, 2012 at 11:58 pm

  2. Thanks! Having grown up in Chicago I got my fill of winters in general 🙂

    March 14, 2012 at 4:24 pm

  3. Great flash use! I’ve always avoided flashes, but you’ve done something (?) to make it, well, not look so artificial.

    Next time you’re in Washington, visit State Route 20, which is the next road (to the north) that crosses the Cascades. Steven’s Pass is very beautiful, but it isn’t the best my state has to offer.

    April 16, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    • Thanks for the compliment. I guess the “something” was just trying to balance the flash with the ambient somewhat (reducing the overall exposure then adding the flash to light my daughter “to taste”). I’ll definitely check out Route 20 sometime — we get up there occasionally to visit family and I’m always open to exploring.

      April 17, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Leave a Reply

