Candid-ish Christmas Group Portrait

Family Christmas 24mm, f/8, 1/160s, ISO ?, flash bounced on wall behind the camera

I was revisiting some of my favorite photos recently  — most of which don’t get shared because they aren’t worth much photographically speaking.  I decided to share this one since it’s a good illustration of a semi-candid shot that one might not consider taking but ends up being a (personally) memorable shot.  After opening all our presents on Christmas Eve morning we gathered all of us (minus the two out-of-town siblings and the baby who was sleeping), threw wrapping paper around, and snapped some photos.  The setup was simple: camera on a tripod with on-camera flash bounced on the wall behind the camera.  I have a remote but I just used the self-timer here.  If I were trying to get the “ideal” shot I would have rearranged the room to allow a longer lens to be used and avoid the distortion from the wide-angle.  I would have also lit up the background (simply by turning on lights in the other rooms) so it wasn’t so dark.  I probably would’ve gotten out an umbrella or two and the remote triggers.  However, I would have also annoyed everyone and made them impatient 🙂  In the end we got a fun picture that we all like.

7 responses

  1. Beautiful!

    March 2, 2012 at 1:31 am

  2. Beautiful family, and you got them all looking. I’m widely impressed as I can’t get three looking the right direction.

    March 3, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    • Thanks! I know what you mean about the looking thing. This one only took two frames! My favorite (not) thing is when you direct one child to look at you and all the others turn away from the camera to look at that child…it’s like herding cats 🙂

      March 4, 2012 at 10:46 am

  3. This is great, what a family!

    March 5, 2012 at 12:54 pm

  4. Thanks, Mike! It’s a bummer that we were missing three of the kids though…

    March 5, 2012 at 9:21 pm

  5. All the smiles, what a beautiful family you have!

    Wow, you sound like me…but wait, if I get my softbox…and…and…”oh David, just take the shot already!”

    March 9, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    • Thank you! I’m slowly getting better about just getting the shot and living with it 🙂

      March 10, 2012 at 11:10 am

Leave a Reply

