Texas One And Indivisible

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6782341852/in/photostream

Texas One And Indivisible 17mm, f/14, ISO 200, 6 exp

Some of my friends are involved in “HDR Tennis” where one of them posts a set of bracketed shots and they all process them in their own way.  Once the processed HDRs are posted the public can vote on their favorites.   All that to say that when the latest HDR Tennis brackets were posted — from the interior of the Texas Capitol building — it reminded me of some bracketed shots I had yet to process.

On the same night I took these shots, I walked inside the Capitol and grabbed some shots inside.  The building is beautiful and one could spend weeks taking a range of pictures from the standard rotunda images to abstracts of fancy railings, floors, windows, door knobs and hinges.  I took a few bracketed sets that I hadn’t done before then had to run off to pick up my daughters nearby.

Both images were processed from 6 exposures in Nik HDR Efex Pro.  Minor tweaks were done in Lightroom after that.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6782343316/in/photostream

Texas Capitol Extension 17mm, f/8, ISO 100, 6 exp

4 responses

  1. Great shots, it was hard for me to figure out the wite balance since I was never there, looks like a great place to shoot, nice work!

    February 28, 2012 at 10:13 am

    • I can see how that would be a problem 🙂 I didn’t try to make the white balance perfect but it’s definitely in the ballpark in these. Looking forward to you joining in on one of our HDR Mafia lunches some day…

      February 28, 2012 at 4:36 pm

  2. This is one of my favorite applications of HDR, indoor photography with architecture and design as above. I think it brings us closer and a slight step above what we really see in these places. Wonderful processing.

    February 28, 2012 at 11:34 pm

    • Thanks, Brandon. I agree about the application (I just need to practice it more). On websites (hotels for example) you’re starting to see a lot of HDR used and it makes sense because it brings out so much more than the traditional shots.

      February 29, 2012 at 7:38 pm

Leave a Reply

