Not Touching…Still Not Touching…

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6705478819/in/photostream/

Not touching...Still not touching... 50mm, f/3.5, 1/100s, ISO 400

Those of you with siblings probably remember putting your finger right next to one of them and taunting with “not touching” — frustrating both that sibling and parents who got to hear the complaining from the one being almost being touched.  The kids sometimes like to join in my photo fun, especially when they get to goof off in them.  I “sold” the concept for this shot to my son and he liked the idea and was patient enough to sit for a few shots.  My goal was to try out a simple composite like this in preparation for a future photo I have in mind.  If it’s not obvious, the subjects are the same son with a different shirt on.

This was really simple.  Lighting is just the room’s ambient. [Update…I’m thinking I actually used an on-camera flash pointed back at the wall behind me.  That’s the only way I’d have that glare on the couch.  I’ll check the photo’s exif sometime soon.] I put the camera on a tripod and didn’t move it between shots.  Since I planned to composite two images I sat my son on the coffee table rather than the sofa.  The wrinkles and creases made on the sofa in the different seating positions might be too difficult to merge in the composite.  I took a shot with my son on the left side then used that picture (on the camera’s LCD) to help position my son’s finger in the second shot.  In Photoshop I used one layer as the background and masked in my son from the second layer — very simple.  I gave the final image some extra contrast, etc…just played around until I get something I thought was fun.

2 responses

  1. I love doing this…I have so much fun thinking of scenarios! It’s a great way to do family portraits as well! I like the sibling rivalry idea!

    January 16, 2012 at 8:19 am

  2. a classic!

    January 17, 2012 at 11:09 am

Leave a Reply

