The Blue Ghost, The Fabulous Thunderbirds, And My Fabulous Grandfather

The Blue Ghost

Many of these pictures are reruns but I thought I’d post them in honor of Pearl Harbor Day.  The aircraft carrier in the top image is the USS Lexington (CV-16) which was in service from 1943 through 1991 and now sits as a (very cool) museum in Corpus Christi, TX.  This image is a 3-exposure HDR.  I’m getting some odd pixelization on export from Lightroom which I can’t figure out but the point of posting this is not for the image’s sake itself anyway.

My grandfather joined the Navy during WWII (sometime after Pearl Harbor due to his age) and went through training to become a Navy pilot. I am very fortunate to have a 90-minute recording of him recounting his Navy experiences. My favorite quote: “I graduated from flight school on August 14th, 1945. The Japanese heard I was coming and surrendered the next day.” This is the most recent snapshot I have of him.

My Grandfather - Navy Veteran

Hope you enjoy the rest of these photos from various air shows I’ve attended.

Thunderbirds Headed To The Flight Line

Thunderbirds In Flight

B-1 Bomber (Handheld 3-exposure HDR)

B-1 Bomber

F-18 Engines (HDR)

F-15

Vintage Navy

Modern Navy

Blue Angels In Formation

Navy Trainers

The Golden Knights (Army)

4 responses

  1. What a great series Michael, I love the carrier and your grandfathers quote!

    December 8, 2011 at 2:00 pm

  2. Great Pics! I love the one entitled “B-1 Bomber (Handheld 3-exposure HDR),” its a really great angle & totally captures the experience of an airshow 🙂

    December 21, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    • Thanks! I’m glad you like that one. It may not be obvious from looking at it but with the motion of the people, etc. it was quite a difficult one to pull off (at my Photoshop skill level anyway). I think I worked on that image for a couple hours at least. I rarely spend very much time on an image but did so with this one as a learning experience.

      December 22, 2011 at 11:43 pm

Leave a Reply

