Quick Take On Perfect Photo Suite 6 From OnOne

Cows In A Fog

Some time ago I took the plunge and purchased OnOne’s Perfect Photo Suite 6.  I finally got time to try it out so I grabbed the image (original below) of some cows in pasture to try it out OnOne’s tools.  It was a very small jpg (only 344k) but it was conveniently sitting around on my desktop.  [Regarding the shot itself: I was traveling in east Texas recently and while heading out to work early one morning saw these cows and took the shot.  I liked the peaceful, foggy scene.].

Cows 70mm, f/2.8, 1/125s, ISO ?

I opened up this image in Perfect Photo Suite 6 in the software’s standalone mode (previous versions required opening from Photoshop I believe).  I first used the Effects panel and the Textures sub-panel to add several texture layers (there are layer and masking capabilities similar to Photoshop) , adjusting “strength”, masking out a few spots, and changing blending modes.  There are additional settings as well.  For instance, you can select “normal”, “subtle”, “lighter”, and “darker” options in a “Mode” drop down which change the initial effect.

I then went into the Frames panel and added the film border which included the decay effect along the edges.  There are roughly 1500 individual frames to choose from and a myriad of options which can be tweaked for each.  Of course you can combine effects as well…ENDLESS options.

My impression based on this 15-minute experimental session?  Good stuff.  There are some things which will take getting used to regarding the particulars of using the masks and such.  I’m not implying anything negative though — I’m just used to Photoshop and it will take a little practice to become proficient in the subtleties of OnOne’s tools.  There is clearly a lot of potential and I will definitely be digging into Perfect Photo Suite 6 more deeply.

5 responses

  1. Josh Hobbs

    I have searched high and low over the internet looking for a way to contact you.
    I have seen many of your pictures on Flickr and the many sites I traveled to looking for your contact information.
    So many of your pictures are just stunning !!! The thought that you put in to your shots are nothing shy of incredible.
    My question is simple. At your convenience and you name the cost, would you be for hire to shoot a property I as an artist personally on and off vested three years of my life creating and building ? I have a property at 183 and mopac that I have poured my blood sweat and tears in to of which I am going to rent as a vacation home and I am in need of pictures that would be able to show off the uniqueness and depth of beauty that my property has to offer. I have a Nikon DSR camera and can shoot basic pictures, but I want and am willing to pay for pictures like yours that are magnifacent, that can tell a story. Beautiful pictures that accurately represent what my place is about and that would make it inviting to those looking through the lens of the internet. I can email you some shots to show you what I have to see if it’s something you’d be interested in. Simply contact me to let me know. Thank you !!!

    November 29, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    • Well, thanks for the many kind words…you exaggerate much 🙂 I will send you a private email about the property sometime tonight if that’s OK.

      November 30, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    • Sent an email the other night (to the email you used to post your comment)…just fyi.

      December 2, 2011 at 3:00 pm

  2. Thats some great software Michael, enjoy!

    November 30, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    • I’m thinking it’s going to turn out to be pretty useful 🙂

      November 30, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Leave a Reply

