Out of Focus. Sort of…

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6303967275/in/photostream

Former Flower 60mm, f/2.8, 1/2000, ISO 200

I shot this on a hike in Montana this summer.  Initially I just thought it would make a nice shot with a blurred background — usual stuff.  However, when I started shooting it I realized that no matter what I focused on within this “flower” it still appeared out of focus somewhat.  There’s so much going on in there that the shallow depth of field blurs out the rest.  I kind of like how it sort of has a focal point, yet sort of doesn’t.

Just for grins, another shot from the hike:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6304473358/in/photostream/

Flower 70mm, f/2.8, 1/350, ISO 200

One response

  1. I find this too with flowers, and specifically dandelions that have gone to seed. The stemen is longer than the DOF and therefore the whole of it is not in focus. But the one nect to it is positioned slightly differentl;y – and therefore is also not in focus, but in a different place. Drives me mad! I’ve come to the conclusion that I have to just bite the bullet and use a narrower aperture, or Bite the bullet and go really *really* macro.

    A nice shot nonetheless.

    Some beautiful pictures, and well done on bieng FP’ed.

    November 3, 2011 at 12:54 am

Leave a Reply

