Volleyball Team Picture – Dramatic Outtake

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6289300892/in/photostream

Dramatic Team Portrait 70mm, f/11, 1/250s, ISO 1250

I took individual and team pictures of my daughter’s volleyball team and here’s one of the outtakes.  It was an afterthought that I decided to try before calling it a day so we didn’t even bother including a ball like we did in the “normal” shots.  Lighting was a Canon 580exii into a reflective umbrella in front at slightly camera left and a bare 430exii on the floor behind the team.  The exposure was chosen to darken the ambient light quite a bit.  The girls attempted to look serious for this dramatic shot (after having been smiling and goofing off in the previous pictures).  If I could do it all over again with less time pressure there are some shadows I’d work on getting rid of (in-camera, not in post) and a few other changes I’d make but the girls are pretty happy with it.

For processing I did various tweaks to little spots here and there.  The floor is a deep red so I used curves to decrease the red channel a bit (and the green channel a *tiny* bit).  I added the text and colored it with a color I grabbed from the jerseys.

7 responses

  1. Nice, I think the dramatic light works quite well.

    October 31, 2011 at 1:20 am

    • Thanks! I’m glad you like the effect.

      November 1, 2011 at 7:09 pm

  2. This looks even better here on the blog, nice work Michael

    November 1, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    • Thanks, Mike! I’ve got a question about your cool halloween shots…will post to your blog soon.

      November 1, 2011 at 7:08 pm

  3. Mathew

    This is great, were the lights completely out in the gym when you took this?

    November 14, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    • Thanks. The normal lights were on but I shot in manual mode and dialed in an exposure to kill almost all the ambient light. So, probably 95% of the light came from the two strobes. My third strobe wouldn’t fire but I wanted to fire it straight down the net to light it more (get a reflection off the ropes similar to what the center of the net looks like). I’m not sure it would have worked well anyway but that’s how I start with it.

      November 14, 2011 at 8:48 pm

  4. adding to fav’s

    November 15, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Leave a Reply

