Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Those Who Threaten Them

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6281575027/in/photostream

Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Those Who Threaten Them 135mm, f/2.8, 1/750s, ISO 100

My wife saw that quote on a billboard as we drove out of the DFW area last weekend (I believe the billboard used a military ship as the backdrop).  I had just attended the Alliance Airshow in Fort Worth the day before and I thought the quote was appropriate for a shot of the Thunderbirds.

A friend and I bought photographer passes for the show.  The passes were sold to 70-ish photographers and granted access to the show 2 hours before the general public so we could photograph the static displays without the crowds.  We also had a designated area at the flight line — just to one side of the show’s announcer at show center.  Plenty of room, free water ($3 per bottle if you buy at the concession stand), and lunch provided.  It was well worth it.

Editing was simple: “Auto” preset in Lightroom, set daylight white balance, added some clarity and a little fill light.  Vignette and deep blue sky are courtesy of the polarizing filter I was using.

I had to snap this photo of all the glass in the photo area.  All I could think of is Mark Garbowski’s blog title “Too Much Glass”.  It was entertaining to watch the chorus of lenses scanning the sky in synchronicity as planes flew by.  I had some serious lens envy with my puny 70-200mm f/2.8 IS.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6281573643/in/photostream

Too Much Glass 70mm, f/2.8, 1/750s, ISO 100

11 responses

  1. Great shot of all the lenses! Wow those are big….

    October 25, 2011 at 10:29 pm

  2. Great shot Michael, wish I could have made it. I had a VIP pass to the Bell Helicopter tent and had all my plans set to go Sunday :-/. I went last year when the Blue Angels flew and that was great. Oh well, there’s always next year!

    October 26, 2011 at 8:52 am

    • The Bell tent…we have to get to know each other 😉 I feel for you. We camped up Fri-Sunday with our families in Grapevine and on Sunday morning I took the kids to the runway observation spot (Founder’s Plaza I think it’s called?) at DFW Airport to watch planes for a little while. A group there mentioned that they had been headed to the air show and that is was canceled — I felt ill for them. Such a nice day too. I think I’m partial to the Blue Angels myself (I see them in Corpus or Kingsville almost every year). I can’t really pinpoint why but I seem to walk away more satisfied with the Blue Angels’ show.

      October 26, 2011 at 8:16 pm

  3. Ha! I love that shot. I might have Too Much Glass, but I don’t have any that big. Amazing to see so many in one spot, and pointed in unison. They’re like cannons (yes, the kind with two “Ns”). They’re huge. My left arm is getting tired just thinking about holding that up.
    Great shots Mike, and thanks for the shout.

    October 26, 2011 at 9:16 am

    • The good thing about those lenses is that you can plop the end on the ground and use your camera back for a stool 🙂 I intended to take an iphone video of all the cameras moving together but never got around to it. It was a sight to see.

      October 26, 2011 at 8:18 pm

  4. Great shot’s Michael, lens envy is an understatement, I will have to remember the photography pass idea

    October 26, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    • A photography pass is the way to go, even if you’re not totally concentrating on the pictures. My friend and I spent nearly an hour of that pre-crowd time chatting with the crew chief of one the F-16s. We learned all sorts of geeky stuff about how parts of the aircraft worked, history of F-16, interesting things about why things are designed the way they are, etc. Very cool.

      October 26, 2011 at 8:21 pm

  5. Wow, love that image of the photographers with the camera trained on them. Strange bunch photographers…

    November 4, 2011 at 10:57 am

    • Yes, it was quite a sight! Seeing them panning together was even better — I regret not grabbing a quick video.

      November 9, 2011 at 9:36 am

  6. Pingback: Last Light At The Lake « Michael Tuuk Photography

Leave a Reply

