Bees, Flowers…and Wind

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6105018897/in/photostream/

Bees, Flower, and Wind 60mm, f/4.5, 1/2000s, ISO 200

These bees are hanging on tightly to this windblown flower on the bank of the Stillwater River in Nye, Montana.  The shimmering river provides some nice highlights in the bokeh.  The earthy tones in the background also contrast nicely (IMO) with the brightly colored flower.

Processing: A couple selectively masked curves (including the vignette).  Selective sharpening here and there.  Noise reduction on the background just to add to the creamy look.

For various reasons I couldn’t decide what crop I liked best.  Opinions – above or below?  The top is my favorite but I’m not overly keen on how the leaves are cut by the frame.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6105019451/in/photostream/

Bees, Flower, and Wind...Alternate crop

2 responses

  1. Hmm, that’s a tough one. They are both beautiful and I really like the contrast of the colors vs the bland background. I guess I’d have to say my favorite is the bottom one. Even though there is less of the flower, it appears to take up more of the frame (visually.) Also, it’s different. And I like different!

    Fun photos!

    September 7, 2011 at 1:09 pm

  2. You’re no help! 🙂 I like both too.

    September 9, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Leave a Reply

