Horses, Montana Ranch

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/6058678703/in/photostream

Horses, Montana Ranch 70mm, f/8, 1/20s, ISO 100

I loved Montana.  There were scenes like this everywhere — wide open spaces, mountains, horses — beautiful.  I passed this place several times and decided I needed to take a picture of it.  I waited a little bit for the horses to move into an interesting position (ie not with ALL their backs turned) and took the shot.  Simple, but I like it.

Processing consisted of cropping and playing around with things in Lightroom.  The main effect is the semi-desaturated, “old picture” look.

Just down the road from this ranch, I captured this shot of an old, rusty tractor and gave it a similar “old picture” treatment.

[Update in response to questions]

What a surprise to featured in Freshly Pressed. Thanks, everyone for the kind comments! What I liked about this picture was its simplicity and its portrayal of the vast open spaces — glad you like it too.

The picture was taken near Nye, MT in the Stillwater Valley. For those familiar with the area it was approximately half way between the Nye post office and the Stillwater mine. While I’ve driven through other parts of Montana, the Stillwater Valley is the only area where I’ve spent significant time (three different trips). There is basically no tourism which makes it that much more attractive. I’d highly recommend a visit to the forests and wilderness in this area. I’d also recommend renting an ATV (http://www.benbowatvrentals.com/) and heading up into the mountains — AMAZING views to be had. Unfortunately severe rain was threatening (and eventually arrived) when we rented the ATVs so the camera gear stayed in our cabin — no pics. The camera used was a Canon 5D mkii with a Canon 24-70 f/2.8L (at 70mm). The image was cropped slightly for aesthetic reasons which slightly reduces the “vastness” effect but improved the overall image.  Over time I’ll try to visit everyone’s blogs, but it may take a while!

93 responses

  1. Epic in scale, simple in execution. Well done.

    August 23, 2011 at 9:50 am

    • Thanks, Mark. That’s what I liked about it — even cropped it still has a sense of scale.

      August 30, 2011 at 5:37 pm

  2. So beautiful!! I’ve always wanted to see a Montana ranch and the mountains, too! I love this photo!

    November 2, 2011 at 11:54 am

  3. This is so beautiful! I’ve always wanted to go to Montana, and I’m a horse person… this is basically a shot of my hypothetical dream home. SO lovely. Thank you for posting!

    November 2, 2011 at 11:59 am

  4. Of all the states I’ve traveled through, Montana was the most beautiful. Connie
    http://7thandvine.wordpress.com/

    November 2, 2011 at 12:07 pm

  5. zenlifefrugal

    Love the photo!

    November 2, 2011 at 12:07 pm

  6. Love it. Positively tells the story of how vast MT is!

    November 2, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    • Vast. That’s Montana, alright!

      November 2, 2011 at 6:28 pm

  7. Beautiful. The grandeur of the scenery almost serves to marginalize the house — though you can tell it’s a significantly sized home! Cool capture… 🙂

    November 2, 2011 at 12:14 pm

  8. Great photo. I have hitchhiked through Montana many times over the years. Where in Montana was this picture taken? There are a number of beautiful valleys in Montana. Someone told me that he thought that the valley that runs through Ennis, Montana was the most beautiful. I love the country between Helena and Missoula, MT.

    “On a Ranch Near Ennis, Montana”

    http://www.digihitch.com/article1788.html

    November 2, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    • The bitterroot valley is amazing! (Near Missoula.) I would also say that the area near Flathead Lake is also breath taking.

      November 2, 2011 at 5:41 pm

  9. Here are a couple more hitchhiking stories about Montana:

    “Sitting in Jail in Broadus, Montana”

    http://www.digihitch.com/article1970.html

    “A Hot Meal at a Campfire in Montana”

    http://www.digihitch.com/article1635.html

    November 2, 2011 at 12:51 pm

  10. Breathtaking and makes you want to escape to Wide Open Places:)

    November 2, 2011 at 12:53 pm

  11. Gosh, that’s where I want to live. You caught it just perfectly. It’s expressive and says so much about peace and nature.

    http://valentinedefrancis.blogspot.com/

    November 2, 2011 at 12:59 pm

  12. Charlotte Lehman

    This is such a beautiful photo! What a gorgeous place….

    November 2, 2011 at 12:59 pm

  13. Nancy Sisk

    take me there….
    great work!

    November 2, 2011 at 1:01 pm

  14. Pingback: Horses, Montana Ranch « Michael Tuuk Photography « chippercharlott

  15. I always wanted to go there. Montana is so famous for its beauty:-) Thank you for the inspiration.

    Ginger

    November 2, 2011 at 1:11 pm

  16. Beautiful.

    November 2, 2011 at 1:16 pm

  17. Beautiful. Like a breath of fresh air. Love how the scenery and what you had to say were minmalist.

    November 2, 2011 at 1:36 pm

  18. nearlynormalized

    Spring, Summer, Fall-what about a Winter photo? Next time. Vastness is an understatement.

    November 2, 2011 at 1:45 pm

  19. kendallcotton

    The awesome thing about Montana is that you can see stuff like this just from the highway! However, if you live there like I do and spend time exploring the areas not designated as tourist sights on the map, there is even more beauty to be found that no one even knows about. If you ever come to Montana, I recommend driving through the Swan valley on highway 83 all the way up to Kalispell. The mountains and greenery there are incredible and the area is not that populated or touristy.

    November 2, 2011 at 1:52 pm

  20. carloscs32

    muy buena foto

    November 2, 2011 at 2:07 pm

  21. Majestic!

    November 2, 2011 at 2:27 pm

  22. What makes this picture stand out is the boss mare betraying the fotographer, thus making us viewers feel like we’re in this spectacular scenery being noticed by the horses. You cannot detach yourself from this.

    November 2, 2011 at 2:52 pm

  23. Gorgeous. Well done!

    November 2, 2011 at 3:09 pm

  24. Spectacular! Amazing scenery; love how you’ve captured the juxtaposition of the ranch house and the mountain range surrounding it.

    Thanks for sharing, & congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

    November 2, 2011 at 3:11 pm

  25. I’ve been to many states, but I’ve never been to Montana…and yet, it’s the one state that I’ve always said I think I would be happy to live in if I had to move to America. Your photo proves my thoughts correct – it’s beautiful!

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! 🙂

    November 2, 2011 at 3:55 pm

  26. Simple and elegant

    November 2, 2011 at 3:57 pm

  27. I really.. really miss Montana. It was one of my favorite places to visit. The amount of wind was a little startling but so beautiful. Thank you for sharing this photo. It made my day 🙂

    November 2, 2011 at 4:43 pm

  28. Awesome picture! A beautiful scene indeed. Thank you for sharing,

    November 2, 2011 at 4:54 pm

  29. Incredible pic! What camera / lens combination were you using, just out of curiosity? Thanks

    November 2, 2011 at 4:56 pm

  30. I lived in Montana for two years! I loved seeing scenes like this everyday! Life can be simple and beautiful, and I believe that you captured both of those things with this shot.

    November 2, 2011 at 5:39 pm

  31. Cool… Nature is beautiful. 🙂

    November 2, 2011 at 7:12 pm

  32. sparkler420

    Great photo. I live in Montana… born and raised.

    November 2, 2011 at 7:21 pm

  33. I love the snapshot.

    November 2, 2011 at 7:22 pm

  34. Breathtaking in its simplicity and majesty. Love it!

    November 2, 2011 at 8:00 pm

  35. Timothy Mager

    This is fantastic photography!

    November 2, 2011 at 8:01 pm

  36. The scene is so timeless that it could have been taken back in the covered wagon days…if they had had cameras then, that is…

    Ronnie

    November 2, 2011 at 8:08 pm

  37. amazing landscape! love the big country

    November 2, 2011 at 8:32 pm

  38. beautiful country right there 🙂

    November 2, 2011 at 9:16 pm

  39. Beautiful picture!!

    – AAV Productions
    http://www.expandenlargement.com/

    November 2, 2011 at 9:20 pm

  40. breath taking picture.. 😀

    November 2, 2011 at 10:22 pm

  41. hoo.. nice one..:)

    November 2, 2011 at 10:42 pm

  42. If i use one word for image awesome.

    November 2, 2011 at 10:57 pm

  43. lovely pic…..

    November 2, 2011 at 11:16 pm

  44. Fiona.q

    it’s perfect, just lack of some horse riders, lool.

    November 2, 2011 at 11:48 pm

  45. Nice shot. I live in Montana, and I think I recognize this so I’m going to take a stab at it– Is this right off of Hwy 93 in between Missoula and Kalispell? I may have it wrong but it looks familiar.. then again it could be 300 other spots around here! =)

    November 3, 2011 at 12:29 am

  46. Thank you for taking me back to my time in Montana. I use to live in Bozeman, and I loved that time period in my life. The way you frame your images and the manner you choose to do so is captivating. Thank you again.

    November 3, 2011 at 12:56 am

  47. nice!

    November 3, 2011 at 2:12 am

  48. Vast. That’s Montana, alright!

    November 3, 2011 at 2:16 am

  49. arief3000

    This is such a beautiful photo! What a gorgeous place

    November 3, 2011 at 2:40 am

  50. Beautiful. The grandeur of the scenery almost serves to marginalize the house — though you can tell it’s a significantly sized home! Cool capture

    November 3, 2011 at 2:43 am

  51. Nice!

    November 3, 2011 at 3:40 am

  52. Fantastic!

    November 3, 2011 at 4:38 am

  53. Wow. Really can’t say much beyond that. I’ve been rendered speechless.

    November 3, 2011 at 4:43 am

  54. SO lovely. Thank you for posting!

    November 3, 2011 at 5:29 am

  55. b,inggris cmua…..
    kaga ngrtii aqoe… 🙂

    November 3, 2011 at 5:38 am

  56. This place looks huge… Nice picture

    November 3, 2011 at 7:27 am

  57. After seeing the movie Horse Whisperer I couldn’t wait to visit Montanna and it was primarily for reasons like the one captured above. The rich, open landscape smattered with horses. It’s breathtaking in scope; well done…

    November 3, 2011 at 7:36 am

  58. Pingback: Regretfully So …. « Creative Endeavors, The Home of BoxcarOkie.com

  59. What a surprise to featured in Freshly Pressed. Thanks, everyone for the kind comments! What I liked about this picture was its simplicity and its portrayal of the vast open spaces — glad you like it too.

    The picture was taken near Nye, MT in the Stillwater Valley. For those familiar with the area it was approximately half way between the Nye post office and the Stillwater mine. While I’ve driven through other parts of Montana, the Stillwater Valley is the only area where I’ve spent significant time (three different trips). There is basically no tourism which makes it that much more attractive. I’d highly recommend a visit to the forests and wilderness in this area. I’d also recommend renting an ATV (http://www.benbowatvrentals.com/) and heading up into the mountains — AMAZING views to be had. Unfortunately severe rain was threatening (and eventually arrived) when we rented the ATVs so the camera gear stayed in our cabin — no pics 😦

    The camera used was a Canon 5D mkii with a Canon 24-70 f/2.8L (at 70mm). The image was cropped slightly for asthetic reasons which slightly reduces the “vastness” effect but improved the overall image.

    Over time I’ll try to visit everyone’s blogs, but it may take a while 🙂

    Mike

    November 3, 2011 at 8:14 am

  60. House on the hill!

    November 3, 2011 at 8:18 am

  61. nice landscape

    November 3, 2011 at 8:20 am

  62. Pingback: Regrets … Looking Back « Creative Endeavors, The Home of BoxcarOkie.com

  63. Love the great expanses of land in Montana!! . . . Your photo really helps to capture the essence of the place!

    http://arabianmusings.wordpress.com/

    November 3, 2011 at 8:40 am

  64. Wonderful photos, very deserving of being Freshly Pressed. I have a similiar shot of a tiny cottage in Ireland that I will have to post on my blog someday when the time is right. Of course I’m not a pro, so calling is “similiar” is hyperbole.

    November 3, 2011 at 8:42 am

  65. So beautiful!! Like a dream!!!!! 🙂

    November 3, 2011 at 8:58 am

  66. omg is nice shot.

    November 3, 2011 at 9:09 am

  67. Amazing shot Michael.

    I have always wanted to go to Montana, but have never made it.

    Thanks for sharing what I am missing.

    November 3, 2011 at 9:12 am

  68. chameleonic

    such an incredible shot!

    November 3, 2011 at 9:43 am

  69. Coooooooooooooooooooooooooool .

    November 3, 2011 at 9:54 am

  70. Frighteningly beautiful isolation.

    November 3, 2011 at 9:55 am

  71. Really, the thousand words that this pictures says is …WOW

    Cheers,
    -Ron
    http://www.learntobeatmatch.ca

    November 3, 2011 at 9:58 am

  72. I have not visited the West or Montana, however a relative has hunted there many times. Form your excellent photo shot,one gets the sense of the name “BIG SKY” country!! Love the impression of vastness when viewing this scene! And no picture is better than one including HORSES!!

    November 3, 2011 at 10:15 am

  73. Montana is my dream state. I agree with everything you said about Montana in this post. This picture just verifies everything 🙂

    November 3, 2011 at 11:21 am

  74. Stunning!

    November 3, 2011 at 11:27 am

  75. Amazing, truly amazing!

    November 3, 2011 at 11:57 am

  76. Quite overwhelming in grandeur in its own way – great image, many thanks

    November 3, 2011 at 12:14 pm

  77. Great photo. I am glad you caught it right before that giant boulder out of frame on the left rolled down and crushed the house. 🙂

    November 3, 2011 at 12:16 pm

  78. Great shot!

    November 3, 2011 at 3:26 pm

  79. This is a beautiful image. Great work.

    November 3, 2011 at 5:12 pm

  80. tutankhamon661

    Great!

    November 3, 2011 at 7:18 pm

  81. Thanks for a great picture. I agree with Kendall Cotton, those of us fortunate enough to live here find beauty all the time. Most of Montana is not a tourist area and Big Sky is the best name for it. I wasn’t fortunate enough to grow up here, but I’ve lived here long enough to call this place home. I had forgotten how free-ing it is to see the sky out here until I was away for 3 years and came back. There’s just something that opens your soul and sets you free when you’re outside here. No matter what the season or time of day, there’s abundant beauty. Your photo gives the scene a timelessness to it, it could be a modern day photo or one from many years ago.

    November 3, 2011 at 10:01 pm

  82. Pingback: Strolling on the Beach « Michael Tuuk Photography

  83. wow………. after a long time I have seen a pic that I loved so much………

    This pic reflects the whole culture of America which I so much love…… truly beautiful..

    November 4, 2011 at 12:49 am

  84. Beautiful blog 🙂
    Cheers!

    November 4, 2011 at 4:26 am

  85. wow great shot … ! also very interesting post I really enjoyed it

    November 5, 2011 at 4:54 am

  86. I’m craving for closer shots of the house. Not that the scenery isn’t drop-dead gorgeous. For some reason I thought Montana would have been really green. Thanks for the wonderful picture.

    November 9, 2011 at 8:59 am

  87. Bill

    My wife of 40 years comes from Montana and she has tryed to explain how it is. This pic shows me how, thank you. We will get there one day to see first hand. Thank you.

    November 23, 2011 at 8:21 am

    • I’m glad you like it. It’s funny, while I do like this picture, I’ll say that it doesn’t do justice to how incredible Montana is — you need to visit!

      November 25, 2011 at 3:18 pm

  88. very nice

    November 26, 2011 at 2:12 am

Leave a Reply

