Self Portrait by a Four Year Old

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5980725201/in/photostream

Self Portrait 70mm, f/4, 1/90s, ISO 500

I’m doing a little craft project with my three youngest children to celebrate the fact that “God made ME”.  Part of this uses a picture of themselves and I thought they would enjoy doing their own self portrait (I guess that’s a tautological statement).  I was correct — they had a blast making faces, etc while they pressed the remote shutter release.

One light, no reflectors, no worry about background or whether shadows were filled in.  I set up the flash with a shoot-thru umbrella (having the flash go off was half the fun for them), plopped it in a semi-open space, and sat them in a chair.  The camera was on a tripod.  No posing to speak of.  No thought of changing into a shirt without fresh strawberry juice spots.  Manual focus was used because they (well, the boys) moved around so much that the camera had trouble focusing in the dim light.

There were some really funny results.  The picture above was my favorite though.  He thought he had to point the remote at the camera.  Very cute.  Almost straight out of the camera — cropped and the exposure was bumped up 1/3 stop.

7 responses

  1. Your son’s photograph is really good – I could not even take one that clear and I’m over 50. Tell him that Marie, from London, England loves his self-portrait. Obviously a new photographer in the making.

    July 27, 2011 at 8:05 am

  2. My goodness what a beautiful smile.

    July 27, 2011 at 12:09 pm

  3. Thats too cool Michael, what a smile!

    August 2, 2011 at 10:04 am

  4. A J

    Gorgeous shot!! I love smile on his face.

    August 10, 2011 at 12:29 am

  5. Fiona.q

    your shots of people touch me the most. interesting!

    November 3, 2011 at 12:01 am

Leave a Reply

