T Minus 12

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5949182480/in/photostream

Stillwater Valley, Nye, MT 70mm, f/11, 1/60, ISO 100

Headed to Montana in 12 days with my wife and friends.  The picture above was taken early one morning during our last visit to the Stillwater Valley in Nye, MT.  Had a blast and can’t wait to get back there.  Our trip to Montana in the summer of 2009 marked the first time I ever used a real tripod and head, and the first time I made a “real” attempt at taking “good” pictures.  I had just read through Scott Kelby’s tips on landscape photography but forgot most of them of course.  Nothing overly special about this shot other than the memories.  Simple processing with curves.

I’d better start practicing rising early if I’m going to hit the sunrises — it starts getting pretty light by 5am up there.  That’s actually one thing I miss from living up north; I love when it gets light very early in the morning as it really helps get the day going.

3 responses

  1. have fun my friend and I look forward to the shots!!

    July 19, 2011 at 12:33 pm

  2. Nice scenic shot, have fun on the trip!

    July 20, 2011 at 9:44 am

  3. I’ll try to come back with something decent! I’m sure we’ll play hard all day then stay up late playing spades every night so I’m not sure if I’ll make it up for the sunrises 🙂

    July 28, 2011 at 8:13 am

Leave a Reply

