Water Fountain

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5786809399/in/photostream

Fountain and Traffic Bokeh 50mm, f/1.4, 1/30s, ISO 100

I made another dark o’clock airport run last week and brought the camera along to catch the sunrise blue hour on my way into the office.  There were no clouds in the sky (boring) so I decided to swing by the Texas Capitol to take some shots of it against the colors of the sky.  It turned out to be a gray hour rather than blue — no color at all so I was about to bag it completely.  However, I did notice the reflections in this fountain at the corner of Congress and Cesar Chavez and stopped for some pictures.  The above image was taken on the NE corner of the intersection looking east down Cesar Chavez.  As the traffic lights (and the traffic) changed it provided many variations in the colors and this was my favorite.  Processing was a handful of curves adjustments mainly.

The image below was a 3-second exposure at the same fountain but on the other side of the wall where the water cascades down into the courtyard.  Processing was done in Lightroom — so minor that I really don’t even remember what I did 🙂

In truth, this fountain has endless photographic possibilities both as a subject and as a background.  I’m sure I’ll be back some day.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5787360794/in/photostream

Cascading Water 51mm, f/2.8, 3s, ISO 400

5 responses

  1. I really like your first photo up above. The light reflection on the of the streams of water is very beautiful. Good shot. Gotta love Bokeh.

    I can’t wait to get my prime lens so I can open up to a 2 or 1.4.

    June 1, 2011 at 10:55 pm

  2. I recognized it immediately! great work Mike, and I have driven by that countless times and thought I need to shoot it, and now I know I do!! well done mate!

    June 2, 2011 at 12:57 pm

  3. Nice work Mike, great bokeh on the top pic, well done

    June 2, 2011 at 1:07 pm

  4. Lovely reflection in the first shot, and great motion in the second!

    June 2, 2011 at 1:20 pm

  5. absolutely love the first shot…stunning.

    June 2, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Leave a Reply

