Austin Skyline “Candid”

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5733567392/in/photostream

Good Morning, Austin 4-shot panorama 70mm, f/2.8, 0.3s, ISO 100

I took my wife and daughters to the airport at dark o’clock yesterday morning so I decided to hang out and catch the sunrise.  One of my favorite spots (due to ease of access) to shoot the Austin skyline isn’t far out of the way to my office so I hopped over there for 5 minutes to grab this 4-shot panorama.  I would normally shoot this with more frames zoomed in with the 70-200.  However, I only had the 24-70 with me so I made do.  Turns out that I didn’t have my tripod mounting plate either so I commandeered a concrete wall.  The shot’s kind of soft but it’s still a beautiful pre-sunrise sky.  The bands of clouds add a natural texture to the scene as well.

I’m calling this a candid landscape shot even though I did shoot 2 test frames to dial in my settings before shooting the final 5 frames targeted for the pano (one of which went unused).  There was a visible vignette in the original shots and they show up in the stitching somewhat when the photo is viewed small like this.  However, I didn’t want to make the effort to clean them up.  It is a candid after all…

6 responses

  1. What an excellent view, Michael. Thanks for sharing.

    May 18, 2011 at 8:27 am

  2. Beautiful shot Michael! Very well done.

    May 18, 2011 at 10:12 am

  3. that’s just sweet Mike, great light!

    May 18, 2011 at 10:19 am

  4. Nicely done, Michael! Very peaceful.

    May 18, 2011 at 3:30 pm

  5. Thanks, everyone! Glad I brought my camera along on the trip to the airport.

    May 20, 2011 at 1:55 pm

  6. Pingback: Friday Photo Spots Weekly Roundup & My First HDR Image — Jason Hines

Leave a Reply

