The Heavens Declare

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5659653843/

The Heavens Declare 16mm, f/11, 1/90s, ISO 100

“The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims His handiwork”.  That’s about all there is to say about an awesome sky like this.

Had dinner with some friends tonight and when I got home this was the view from my driveway.  I snapped some photos as the sun went down but mostly just stood and watched as this cloud billowed and tumbled and whatever else clouds do.  It changed rapidly. The processing on this photo was simple: Selected a preset I had in Lightroom which mostly adjusted clarity, contrast and brightness, used three curves layers in Photoshop to tweak some areas, reduced noise, sharpened slighty, and blended in at 50%-ish opacity a layer which had been run through Topaz Adjust’s “Exposure Correction” filter.

[Updates: An additional note in response to some questions I got.  I first shot this with a Canon 50D and a Sigma 10-20mm lens.  I made that choice simply based on the availability of the 10mm focal length  (24mm is the widest I have for my 5D — equivalent to 15mm-ish on the 50D).  I also shot this with the full-frame Canon 5D Mark ii to see if I could *really* bring out some sharp detail in the clouds with the slightly higher resolution.  In the end I chose a 16mm shot from the 50D.  This cloud was changing by the second and the choice of which frame to process was based solely on the shape and color of the cloud in the frame and not at all on the focal length or which camera was used.  With regards to exposure, I was bracketing around the hairy edge of where the brightest highlights of the cloud *almost* were blown out.

Also, see this cool capture by DJ Schulte which adds a great foreground element.  I tried to find something interesting at my place but didn’t find anything compelling enough to include in the shot.  I decided the cloud itself was worth the shot anyway.]

10 responses

  1. Incredible.

    April 26, 2011 at 10:59 pm

  2. Amazing capture!

    April 27, 2011 at 9:40 am

  3. amazing looking for sure, it’s kinda cool when you just look up and something like that is there in front of you

    April 27, 2011 at 1:01 pm

  4. Awesome, awesome shot!

    April 27, 2011 at 7:40 pm

  5. Thanks, everyone!

    I admit to being a bit slow…you Hines go together (I followed the “shooting leaning shacks” comment Kristi made). Great work by both of you.

    April 27, 2011 at 8:30 pm

  6. Oh yeah — Mike, how’s the practice going for the wedding shoot?

    April 27, 2011 at 8:32 pm

  7. Thanks for the link. I like the way your image shows the immense size of this cloud. Cool “sunset” line in the cloud too!

    April 27, 2011 at 9:41 pm

  8. Mike, awesome…wish I was here to see it!!

    May 4, 2011 at 9:19 am

  9. Whoah! Love this shot. Great detail in the clouds!

    May 5, 2011 at 11:16 pm

  10. Pingback: Another Cool Cloud « Michael Tuuk Photography

Leave a Reply

