Lunchtime Photo Shoot Downtown

 

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5581203942/

Pete Shooting Tiffany on the Bar

Quick post tonight…

Today at lunch I joined Pete Talke, Steve Wampler, and Alex Suarez for a photo shoot in downtown Austin with a model named Tiffany.  We took turns shooting pics and holding lights and reflectors.  Tiffany was very easy to work with and we all got some great shots.

We started out in front of some cool doors on Colorado Street and in the course of an hour only moved a total of fifty feet.  Next door to these doors is the entrance of a new bar called TenOak (the grand opening is tonight) — an entrance with another set of cool doors.  We had been  shooting for a while in front of the doors when one of the bar owners popped out and invited us to shoot inside if we’d send him some of the pics.  Very cool…had the whole place to ourselves and he graciously encouraged us to shoot anywhere inside.

Rather than show pics of Tiffany just now, I thought I’d post a few environmental shots from our little shoot.  Sometimes we all get so busy shooting that we forget to step back and grab some shots of the whole scene.  I snapped a few shots of the group when we were out on the sidewalk and just before I had to take off I grabbed some bracketed shots in the bar with HDRs in mind.  I didn’t have time to be very thoughtful about my compositions so bear with me.  The image at the top shows a view of the bar with Tiffany posing on the bar itself (far side).  Pete’s flash is on the bar at the right edge of the frame.  He got some very cool shots with Tiffany’s reflection in the frame along with her (watch his blog — maybe he’ll post a couple).

The shot below is another view of the place and if you look carefully you’ll see Tiffany posing beneath the “E” in the “ELIXIR” sign.

Simple processing on both images: Photomatix, quick masking from original exposures, tweaks in Lightroom.

 

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5581207968/

ELIXIR

6 responses

  1. Nice environmental shots, Michael. Love the reflections on that shiny new bar. I’m going to have to return there and shoot. I grabbed the owner’s business card before I left.

    April 1, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    • I still haven’t processed the rest of my shots from that shoot. It was a great place.

      April 8, 2011 at 6:34 pm

  2. Sweet shot’s Michael, what a great little photowalk with a great bunch of talent, boy I wish I lived closer! Still snow in forecast here, getting old fast. Nice work and great post!
    Cheers,
    Wiz

    April 4, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    • Thanks, Mike…I mean, Wiz. I’m so glad I don’t live in the Midwest weather anymore! I remember the snow never seemed to end and the slush lasted even longer.

      April 8, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      • Oh yeah, about that talent. I agree — really great photogs to learn from. I’m lucky to be able to join in with guys like those around here.

        April 8, 2011 at 6:36 pm

  3. Sweet, sounds like a good time! Nice work buddy! Jim

    April 9, 2011 at 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

