Holly Street Power Plant In HDR

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5501068716/

Holly Street Power Plant In HDR 10mm, f/13

Mike Connell set up an appointment for several of us local Austinites to tour and photograph inside the Holly Street Power Plant (see Mike’s story here).  It would have been a joy to see the place even if we couldn’t photograph it.  When energy was still being generated here I used to run the trails adjacent to it and I’ve always wanted to see inside the place.  Needless to say, I jumped at the chance to join my friends for this adventure.  The plant has been closed for a few years and is scheduled for demolition starting in a few months so this is a last-chance opportunity.

There is no electrical power in the plant currently and as we entered through an unlit room our guide — a burly guy named Bobby Gosey — remarked that we wouldn’t believe how creepy the place is at night.  Most of the floors were metal grates which creaked and clanked as we walked and the darkness below was apparently endless in the dimly-lit environment.  None of us had to push our imagination too far to believe him.

As I’ve perused the resulting images I’ve thrown out far more than I’ve decided to keep but I do like how a few turned out.  The photo above shows the entrance to one of the control room areas.  I thought it was an appropriate image to start with given the prominent Austin Energy logo on the door.  I’ll post “something rusty” in the future.

While poking around online, I found a site which has all the “as-built” architectural drawings for the power plant.  I find these drawings kind of cool…I’m just a geek that way.  Here’s the link for you other geeks: http://www.holly.austinenergy.com/asbuilts.htm.

Thanks go out to Carlos Cordova and Bobby Gosey for accommodating our group and giving us freedom to roam at will throughout the facility.

2 responses

  1. Nice shot, Michael! Love the reflections.

    March 5, 2011 at 9:22 pm

  2. I like how you worked the Energy sign in there, nicely done

    March 8, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Leave a Reply

