Random Sunset Panorama

 

 

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5449707842/

Sunset Panorama

 

 

There’s a spot near my house which has a great vantage point for watching the sunset. Yesterday I noticed the clouds were forming up nicely as the sun got lower in the sky so I decided to pop over to that spot and catch some pics of the event.

I shot four sets of images — two sets of brackets for some prospective HDRs, some shots of other cloud formations with some of the local vegetation blowing in the wind, and one set of images for a panorama shot. For the panorama I shot in manual mode so the exposure remained consistent throughout the shots. If you shoot in Av or any other automatic mode the camera will meter every time you press the shutter. As you sweep the camera from a light part of the sky to a darker part, the camera tries to compensate by increasing the exposure.  When you stitch the frames the sky won’t match from frame to frame.  I also bracketed the panorama frames +/- 1 stop…just in case.

After stitching the center exposures in Photoshop I applied a couple of curves adjustment layers — a separate curve for the blue and red channels. I then added an exposure adjustment layer, set it to +1.8 stops, then applied a gradient mask so that only the right side of the image was actually increased by 1.8 stops. Pretty simple treatment and quick to apply.

Here’s an 8-exposure HDR taken earlier in the evening. Tonemapped, applied two sets of curves, blended a Topaz Adjust “Photo Pop” layer at 50% opacity. I wish there was an interesting foreground subject or feature to have included, but the sky makes it worth the shot IMO.

 

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5449111667/

Sunset in HDR

9 responses

  1. Beautiful panorama Michael.

    February 15, 2011 at 9:20 pm

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Random Sunset Panorama « Michael Tuuk Photography -- Topsy.com

  3. Michael, a beauty!!! Hope you are feeling better!!

    February 16, 2011 at 9:26 am

    • Thanks, Pete. I’m doing well and hope to be walking normally “soon”.

      February 17, 2011 at 12:51 am

  4. I think I know that spot! You are only a couple of miles away from me. You have to come over to our place for the Bluebonnets and wildflowers this year. It is going to be a big field of flowers again this year.

    Wonderful images!!!!

    February 16, 2011 at 10:57 am

    • Yes — this was taken just around the corner in Rim Rock. I’d love to visit when the wildflowers get going!

      February 17, 2011 at 12:52 am

  5. Great sunset Mike! Jim

    February 18, 2011 at 11:46 am

  6. Sweet shots Michael, well done, I keep telling myself I need to do some Panos

    February 21, 2011 at 4:53 pm

Leave a Reply

