I Used To Have A Blog

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5332233318/

Deer In Headlights

What an autumn our family had in 2010 — I hope my three regular readers didn’t miss my blog too much. We dealt with breast cancer, a back injury which will require surgery, and the normal busy-ness of a family with lots of children. All is good however. My wife is doing great and I’m walking again. I might even take a picture sometime soon.

God is good. While in bed with a severe back condition — which was most of the month of December — I meditated a lot on Philippians 4. “Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say rejoice…do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God”. So, I did that. In my pain I rejoiced. In my pain I thought of a thousand things I was thankful for and expressed that thanks to God.

What’s with the picture above you may ask? The whole family is headed out to a friend’s ranch next weekend to hunt deer and stock up on venison. Our friend needs to cull some of the herd in order to keep the deer healthy and we’d love to have the meat. He is going to show us his method of processing a deer from field to freezer. He’ll show us how to make our own venison sausage (many variations). Since I am now able to stand and walk reasonably I am going to take advantage of the opportunity to hunt on the weekend before my surgery (which is just after the final week of deer season). I can shoot and wield a knife just fine and my oldest son can do all the lifting. I went to the range and sighted in the rifle yesterday (and blasted a bunch of rounds out the Glock). While I had the rifle out I had my son snap a picture of my younger son and me holding our guns. My six year old (in the picture) inherited this BB gun as a Christmas present and just loves to shoot. Don’t worry — we keep the gun out of reach, only let him shoot with supervision, and make him wear eye protection. We tried to be serious in the picture but came out looking like deer in headlights.

I hope to be taking pictures again soon. It’s been necessary to put the camera down for a while but I think I’ll have time to do a little bit here and there in the near future. Maybe I’ll have something useful to post as well. See you around.

9 responses

  1. Hasi

    I’m so glad to read this latest blog post of yours. As a result of it, I will discontinue reading your blog. What you’re religious beliefs are, while wonderful to you, are of no interest to me. I read blogs for the information purported to be represented by them, not stupid inane christian proselytizing.

    January 7, 2011 at 10:21 am

    • I’m sorry you feel that way and I certainly have no interest in making you read anything you don’t wish to. I do intend to post information generally useful and/or interesting to those who choose to continue to read.

      I hope you will at least find this vocabulary tip to be useful information. If you look up the definition of “proselytizing”, you’ll find that it doesn’t apply to what I said at all and you will be able to use the word more precisely in the future.

      January 7, 2011 at 12:42 pm

  2. Michael, glad to see you up again. I don’t know about the other ‘two’ readers, but I’ve missed seeing your photos. 🙂 I’m sure the surgery will go well, and you’ll be out taking great photos again soon. Enjoy your time this weekend, and good hunting!

    January 7, 2011 at 10:43 am

    • Thanks, Van. I at least have been getting to see yours. I hope we’ll have another group lunch very soon too.

      January 7, 2011 at 12:43 pm

  3. Glad to see you up and moving my friend! Hang in there and best of luck with your upcoming surgery. Jim

    January 7, 2011 at 5:22 pm

  4. (Aunt) Nancy

    Hi Mike, While I don’t comment at all I do follow your blog. It is a great way for me to see your family and besides I love the photography. Especially the ones in Chicago. Glad to hear all is going well in some areas and will be thinking of you with your surgery.

    January 8, 2011 at 3:45 pm

  5. Alistair McNaughton

    Hi. Keep up the photography and the meditations. Enoying the blog – hope the venison sausages turned out well. Rejoicing with you.

    January 12, 2011 at 6:59 pm

  6. Hi Michael,
    I’m doing some catching up myself here. I’m sorry to hear about your family’s troubles lately, but glad that you have apparently come through intact. Looking forward to seeing more posting here, even if only occasionally.
    Mark

    January 17, 2011 at 1:00 pm

  7. Thanks all. I hope to catch up with all of you (and your pictures very soon)!

    Aunt Nancy, we had a great visit with Pam and Carl (I was so bummed to be laid up due to my back but it was great to see them nonetheless). I hope to see all the cousins someday soon.

    January 20, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Leave a Reply

