Fun With Pumpkins

 

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5120543125/

Before and After

As mentioned in a previous post my mom hosts an annual pumpkin carving and/or painting party each fall in Illinois.  This year my family’s annual trek to Illinois happened to coincide with the event and my kids got to participate.

My son was particularly proud of his choice of pumpkins.  His grandmother showed him the finer points of choosing the best ones, explaining which blemishes will add/detract from the final product and how important it is that it stands up straight enough for painting/displaying.  One also learns that the shape (tall and thin, short and round, etc) has to be considered in light of the final piece art you want to make.  Who knew there could be so much to think about with pumpkins?

The shot above shows the state of my son’s pumpkin before and after our big party.  I don’t show it, but the opposite side of the pumpkin has a face carved into it.  He wanted to paint *and* carve.

From a photography standpoint I’m pretty disappointed with the shot on the right — it’s a bit blurry although it displays OK at a small size.  I had the camera on aperture priority mode with a flash mounted on-camera to add light to the indoor ambient.  I was snapping shots here and there without paying much attention to how they were turning out except for glancing at the LCD screen to make sure the exposure was reasonable.  I didn’t notice that my shutter speed was rather slow sometimes, allowing the shot to blur slightly despite the “freeze” effect of the flash.  Live and learn.

Leave a Reply

