Fire in the Sky

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4966484238/

Fire in the Sky 20mm, f/11, 1/20s

I’ve got Deep Purple’s “Smoke on the Water” playing through my head these days.  I haven’t heard the song since, oh, 1985 but I thought of it when I viewed the sunset above.  When I saw those clouds (I didn’t even manage to catch them at the peak of brightness and color), the first thing that popped into my head was the phrase “fire in the sky”.  The clouds looked like flames.  My 3 year old asked me if the sky was on fire — even he thought it looked like fire.  Frankly, the image doesn’t stand on its own but I thought the uniqueness of these clouds made them worth sharing.

An hour before this sunset the sky looked like this:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4965879351/

Predicting a Great Sunset 10mm, f/11, 1/125s

I figured we’d have a great sunset after seeing those clouds but I was busy throwing the football around with the kids so I missed the best part of it.  I would have loved to zip over to a nice vista to take this shot but I settled for the back-porch version.

Smoke on the water…fire in the sky.  Someone please make the music in my head stop 🙂

3 responses

  1. Looks a lot like a Colorado sunset. 🙂 I really like it… great photo!

    September 7, 2010 at 10:54 pm

  2. I LOVE to capture sunrises/sunsets, this is gorgeous. I like you, also find a facination just in mid day clouds if they are displaying an interesting pattern!
    This is a sunrise I caught recently.
    http://mamarazzipages.wordpress.com/2010/09/10/wildlife-in-the-morning/

    September 17, 2010 at 6:58 am

  3. That first shot is an incredible capture of an awesome display of those clouds gathering up the fiery glow of the orange sunset.

    Thnaks for sharing.

    September 20, 2010 at 9:04 pm

Leave a Reply

