F-18 Up Close And Personal

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4899736531/

F-18 Engine Nozzles Up Close

As mentioned several times before, military jets seriously impress me.  The amount of thrust generated by the engines above allows this jet to do amazing things.  I took a shot of these F-18 nozzles at the Wings Over South Texas air show a few months ago.  I’ve peeked at this photo here and there and finally decided to share it.

The final image comes from just playing around with Topaz Adjust, Photomatix, Lightroom, and Photoshop.  The rough process: tonemapped a single hand-held exposure in Photomatix and brought it into Photoshop.  I ran it through Noiseware to clean up the sky then masked the rest of the original tonemapped image back in.  Played around in Topaz Adjust to taste and ran the sky through Noiseware again.  Adjusted levels, curves, and used a black and white adjustment layer to fix up a bit of the clouds that Topaz had overdone color-wise.  Sharpened the final image then used this tip from Nicole Young to fix a bunch of chromatic aberation.

6 responses

  1. Wow.. your photography is incredible and inspiring! 🙂 I found your blog through your Flickr… I’m so glad I did. 🙂 I’m really curious now to try out HDR stuff!

    I had the opportunity to meet Evan while he was touring with Servant’s Call, which was neat. I got to take pictures for them at one of their concerts here! http://photographybysm.blogspot.com/2010/07/servants-call-concert-july-25-2010.html

    It’s neat to find out a little bit more about your family and look at all of your photography. 🙂 God bless you! 🙂

    August 18, 2010 at 11:33 am

  2. Nice shot, Michael, and I see you have a new look to your blog as well.

    August 20, 2010 at 7:19 am

    • Yes — I’ve never liked what I had and finally got around to trying out new ones. After 15-20 previews of various themes I said to myself, “Hey, I like Van’s”…and here it is. Hope you don’t mind 🙂

      August 20, 2010 at 3:34 pm

  3. No problem. I think this is the best theme WordPress has for photography.

    August 20, 2010 at 9:04 pm

  4. Lightroom 3 now has lens profiles that automatically remove CA. I’ve been using them before tone mapping and it gets rid of most CA before Photomatix makes it worse. I think it was worth upgrading for that alone!

    August 21, 2010 at 9:27 am

    • I hope to upgrade soon and will definitely try that out. I haven’t had much luck reducing CA in LR2 when doing HDRs — it often comes back pretty badly. The little trick that Nicole Young shows is pretty handy but can’t be used in every situation as it can distort the colors in places you aren’t intending to change.

      August 21, 2010 at 7:58 pm

Leave a Reply

