Explored…

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4763845676/

LOVE

Wow.  I never thought that a pic taken while messing around in my driveway would end up on Flickr’s Explore.  The fireworks shot above is already my 3rd or 4th most viewed image (behind a few that Trey Ratcliff retweeted on twitter).

I was a bit under the weather on the 4th and certainly did not want to brave what was supposed to be a crowd of over 100,000 people at the Austin fireworks.  So, we settled for sparklers in the driveway which seemed to satisfy the little ones at least.  I brought out the camera and tripod just for fun — I’d set the shutter for 30 seconds and we’d all run around (carefully of course) and draw in the air.

On a whim I started messing with writing a note to my wife.  Surprisingly, I didn’t have much trouble writing backward but I had to learn the timing.  Go fast enough to finish, slow enough to make it readable.  Of course I could have gotten out the remote and used ‘bulb’ for the shutter but I was just messing around and was too lazy for that.

My daughter would press the shutter release after I lit two sparklers.  I wrote ‘LOVE’ with both sparklers in one hand, then used one in each hand to draw the heart.  Got this one on the 4th or 5th try but I might have worked on making the handwriting neater if I knew more people would look at it 🙂  Pretty fun…Glad everyone likes it.

5 responses

  1. jrutherfordphotography

    Very cool photo; congrats on making Explore on Flickr!

    July 6, 2010 at 4:39 pm

  2. Well deserved!

    July 6, 2010 at 4:51 pm

  3. way cool Mike and congrats on Explore!! well deserved for sure, it’s a great image!

    July 6, 2010 at 8:50 pm

  4. Saw this on Explore and said, ‘I know who that is!’. Congrats, Michael, on the Explore and for a really creative idea.

    July 8, 2010 at 9:17 am

Leave a Reply

