Arc de Triomphe in the Rain

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4648657226/

Arc de Triomphe in the Rain

In my last post I extolled the virtues of my Canon 70-200 f2/8 L IS lens.  Today I’ll point out one of the few positive things about my old Sigma 18-200 non-IS (or whatever Sigma calls their stabilization).  What is that virtue?  It’s so old and worn out that I don’t mind setting it down in a puddle in the middle of the Champs Elysee in Paris on a rainy night.

I ran out to the little bitty concrete island in the middle of the street and set the camera on the ground for some shots while traffic zoomed by.  I added my folded-up camera strap under the lens to adjust the framing (I couldn’t look through the viewfinder b/c the camera was sitting right in front of a pole…and I didn’t want to get wet anyway).  With a tripod and more time I would have framed this shot a little differently but I like it well enough.  The water on the lens adds a nice effect too.  Post-processing mostly amounted to the “punch” develop preset in Lightroom and some “recovery” slider action.

My not-quite-10-minute excursion to this concrete island was pretty much the extent of my “doing photography stuff” when I was with my wife during our Paris trip (I took one short photowalk while she was crashed in the hotel one evening).  It was kind of nice not feeling the pressure of trying to work every shot, find the best angles, etc.

Did I mention we had an awesome time in Paris???

One response

  1. it came out good Mike, glad you enjoyed the trip!

    May 29, 2010 at 9:39 am

Leave a Reply

