Suspended in Mid-Air

 

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4640743464/

Lcdr Frank Weisser flies lead solo in Kingsville

 

I love my Canon 70-200mm f/2.8 IS lens.  It’s simply awesome.  The only problem with it is that it smells like cigarette smoke in a big way — can’t leave it in the bag or the whole bag stinks.  Oh well, I bought it used, it’s in great shape, and I got a great deal on it.

Lcdr Frank Weisser is the lead solo pilot in the Blue Angels team and is shown above flying in the show at Kingsville NAS in Kingsville, TX.

I captured Lcdr Weisser zooming by with a focal length of 185mm using a shutter speed of 1/1000, aperture of f5.6 @ ISO 100.  I assume (but honestly don’t remember) that I used the lens’ IS panning mode.  Turned out pretty nice.  In fact, the image is amazingly sharp when cropped to view only the cockpit.

Certainly would have been cool to have some blurred clouds in the background to show some of the motion but there’s something nice about the simple blue sky too.

5 responses

  1. Very cool, Michael!

    May 25, 2010 at 8:52 pm

  2. Great Capture! I want one of those lenses. I’ve used one and they rock!

    May 25, 2010 at 8:53 pm

  3. Awesome shot! I’d put up with the smoke smell… One of my first cameras was like that, but it went away after a while. Great job with the sharpness.. May have to rethink my desire for an 18-200…

    May 25, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    • Thanks, all!

      Evan, an 18-200 is a great all-around lens to have. I’ve got a really old 18-200 Sigma (no IS) and I’m pretty sure I’m going to get one of the new ones sometime soon. There are some days where just having the light, all-around lens is kind of nice. Of course if you can get both… 🙂

      May 25, 2010 at 9:42 pm

  4. Oooo – nice! I would love to visit an air show again. It’s been years since I last went to one. Maybe later this year…

    May 25, 2010 at 11:02 pm

Leave a Reply

