Our Servicemen (and Women) Deserve Our Appreciation

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4537402869/

T-45 Goshawks, Kingsville NAS

I happen to be one of those types who loves the military.  I’ve never been in the services myself but many family members have.  I’ve got nothing but respect for those who serve and it bugs me when people diss them.

I also happen to love (fast) military aircraft.  I don’t geek out about them in the sense that I get to know everything about them — they just impress me to no end and my jaw drops when I see them perform.  When I remind myself that the performance I’m watching (the Blue Angels for example) consists of jets performing maneuvers at one-third to one-half their maximum speed, I’m even more impressed.  What I wouldn’t give to witness a high-speed pass at full speed!  I remember the days when Bergstrom Air Force Base was still open in Austin.  Several times a day pairs of (old) F4s would fly over our house.  I loved how the whole house would rumble when they flew by.

The picture above was taken at Kingsville Naval Air Station (Kingsville, TX) and shows a host of T-45 Goshawk training aircraft used by the modern-day Navy to train pilots.  When I saw these my first thought was of my grandfather, who did his Naval flight training in Kingsville and Corpus during WWII (he would have loved to fly these).  My grandfather graduated from flight school on August 14, 1945 and says “When the Japanese heard I was coming they surrendered immediately”.  These T-45s also bring to mind all the current pilots who are preparing to be the next wave of defenders of our freedom.  I respect them.

The image above was created from three exposures which were then fused (not tonemapped) in photomatix.  The single, center exposure wasn’t too bad but fusing brought back the blown-out sky and added subtle detail in the cockpit and landing gear.  Did very basic curves and sharpening after that.

2 responses

  1. Great shot – great angle!

    Yep, you and my hubby! He’s a aircraft “geek” too. So familiar with these scenes.

    April 20, 2010 at 9:32 am

  2. Love the shot! Great POV on it!

    And thanks for the comments on the military. I’m a 20 year Air Force vet and I appreciate what you said here.

    April 20, 2010 at 7:43 pm

Leave a Reply

