Austin At Night…Practicing HDR Processing

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4505268748/

Thought I’d share a couple more night shots from the recent photowalk with Alex Suarez & Co in downtown Austin.  Both shots are 3-exposure HDRs.  The shot above shot is on 6th St. and shows a typical stretch of the club district before any crowd developed.  The shot below shows the intersection of 6th and Congress from the vantage point of the parking garage.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4505267436/

6th and Congress (click to view on flickr)

I processed both of these mostly as an exercise in improving my work with night scenes.  Even though I had abandoned tonemapping for some of my recent night shots, I found it to work reasonably well for both of these images.  In truth, the main “skill” I learned was patience.  Each image had to be worked on little-by-little in order to properly bring out certain details.  Sometimes the original exposures needed processing to make them suitable for blending with the tonemapped layer.  The skies needed to be masked in, noise needed some reduction (and then some masking to keep detail where necessary).  I had to determine how I wanted to show the traffic (mostly still-ish or really bookin’?) — and then had to work to execute on what I decided.  Lots of work around some of the lights…I spent a fair amount of time on these images, but it was enjoyable.

On a side note, while I processed these images I “watched” (half watched, half listened) some episodes of Foyle’s War.  Look it up on the net.  Really great show (available on Netflix).

Let me know how you like the images…or Foyle’s War.

3 responses

  1. I like the processing on the second shot! Great work. Bright areas are controlled, details are visible through the windows… Very nicely done!

    April 9, 2010 at 11:06 am

  2. Nice job on the processing. I think it turned out quite nice!

    April 9, 2010 at 9:34 pm

Leave a Reply

