An American Classic…The Corvette

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4500320158/

An American Classic (click to view larger on flickr)

Last night I had an appointment with a friend to take some photos of his corvette.  Lo and behold the @dailyshoot assignment for the day turned out to be to take a photo of something going fast or that is able to go fast.  I think the ‘Vette works for “fast”…how convenient is that?

The Corvette is an icon in the world of muscle cars.  Sure, there are other “sports cars” but the ‘Vette is the quintessential “muscle” car.  Love ’em.

The shoot was scheduled in a hill country neighborhood which was still under development.  I showed up for the shoot a few minutes early and was scouting various locations when three cars showed up — a minivan, Ferrari, and an old roadster hot rod.  They were there for a photoshoot for some hot rod magazine.  The photographer remarked that he thought he was the only one who knew of this place.  I moved my car out of their way (I had been using it for test shots while I waited for my friend) and let them pick their spot.  The other photog asked if we wanted his chosen spot for a while — nice of him to offer.  In the end we were all able to work in the same cul-de-sac without getting in one another’s way because he wanted light from the sun and my intention was to shoot *into* the sun.

Side question: Should I have cloned out the water spot in front of the car?  This was from A/C condensation (it was previously parked in that spot).  Just wondering what people think.  Would you even have noticed if I didn’t mention it…?

The shot above is a plain-jane 3-exposure HDR with some additional masking/tweaking in Photoshop after tonemapping.  The composition doesn’t get the sun exactly where I wanted but was chosen such that (1) the car could hide some construction elements and a fire hydrant and (2) so that I could keep some other side-elements (electrical transformers and silt fences) out of the frame.  My friend was happy with it.  We didn’t get quite the dramatic sunset we had hoped for, but the pics are still to our liking.  Hope you like this shot too.

3 responses

  1. looks great, didn’t notice the water spot, sunset looks awesome buddy, well done!

    April 7, 2010 at 11:09 am

  2. Looks really nice, Michael! Great location. I think I would go ahead and clone the water spot, just to clean up the image. Shame you couldn’t get the kind of sunset you had for your 360 bridge photo; that would have been killer!

    April 7, 2010 at 2:29 pm

  3. Didn’t notice the water spot; doesn’t bother me now that you’ve pointed it out. It’s part of the scene, and not distracting. I’d leave it.
    Nice shot. Your interaction with the pro team sounds very positive, too.

    April 8, 2010 at 7:02 am

Leave a Reply

