The Texas Capitol…A Wealth of Photographic Opportunity

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4471204713/

The Texas Capitol from the north side. Center exposure 10mm, f10, 1/4s, ISO 100

It was only last December that I first took a camera into the Texas Capitol.  I don’t think I’ll ever tire of taking pictures there — inside or out.  One evening with a particularly spectacular sky I took the long way home from work in hopes of taking a photo of the Capitol with the sun setting in the distance.  It wasn’t meant to be as the sky filled with more and more clouds but I captured this shot on the north side of the Capitol.  Well worth the trip.

This image was created by tonemapping 3 exposures in Photomatix, then bringing into CS4 for additional processing.  I first used Topaz Adjust on layer copy to bring out detail in the stone and add contrast to the sky and glass.  I copied the result, used Noiseware Pro to reduce the noise, and masked in the sky and glass from the “de-noised” layer.  Finally, I added a contrast adjustment layer (with a mask) to put a bit more contrast into the sky.  In hindsight I should have played around with the sky a bit more.  While I like it OK, I didn’t quite get the look I was going for…next time.

Leave a Reply

