Littlefield Fountain in HDR

https://i1.wp.com/farm5.static.flickr.com/4059/4381498137_c4b505ebcb_b.jpg

Littlefield Fountain Profile (click to view large)

Littlefield Fountain is a World War I memorial at the University of Texas created by Italian sculptor Pompeo Coppini and financed by George Washington Littlefield.  There’s some great information on the fountain here.  While researching a bit of information about Coppini I ran across a quote by J. Frank Dobie who said of Coppini, “…he has littered up Texas with his monstrosities”.  I find that quite funny given that Dobie’s namesake (Dobie Mall) is located practically across the street.  Coppini did many works in Texas — they’re worth checking out.

For photographers in Austin playing with HDR, Littlefield Fountain seems to be one of those required shots — analogous to the required elements in figure skating or gymnastics.  The State Capitol and a skyline shot along Lady Bird Lake are among the other “required elements”.

Friday evening I took my friend and daughter to the University of Texas campus for a short photowalk.  We got a parking space right by the Littlefield Fountain and it became our first stop for pictures.  On a personal note, as soon as we stopped in front of the fountain we were face-to-face with my sister-in-law.  She’s a visiting professor in the business school for the spring semester and just happened to be headed home for the day…great to run into her like that.  Seeing our cameras, she commented on how someone is *always* taking a picture of the fountain.

https://i2.wp.com/farm3.static.flickr.com/2790/4379424276_04b325dea2_b.jpg

Littlefield Fountain - front view (click to view large)

The water is full of algae…it’s really the green color seen in these images.  I frankly don’t care to ever see green water but I’ll be nice and say that it “adds to the images”.  There are many great perspectives and angles to be had around this fountain but I stuck with a couple “safe” and standard shots here.

6 responses

  1. Nice, the green is actually not bad on the image. I must say it is amazing to see how many HDR photographers there are in Texas!
    http://martinsoler.com/category/hdr

    February 23, 2010 at 4:51 pm

  2. Michael, great shot and perspective!!

    February 26, 2010 at 11:17 am

  3. looks good my friend,, hope to see you soon!

    February 26, 2010 at 2:45 pm

  4. Kurt Mitschke

    Great shot man! Do you know anymore about why the water is full of algae and green? I am in my third year at UT and I don’t recall it being like that when I first came here.

    http://burntorangeliving.wordpress.com

    February 26, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    • Ya’ know, I have no idea why that water is so bad…not sure how it’s circulated. I’ve only ever been to that fountain twice so I don’t really know if it has gotten worse over time. Thanks everyone for the compliments on the shot.

      February 27, 2010 at 6:03 pm

  5. Hello,

    I’m a student at UT and I really liked one of your photos. I decided to use it for one of my animation projects in one of my classes (educational purposes only). I thought I would let you know, since it’s your photo after all. Here is the link in case you want to check it out. It’s not much, since it’s a beginner’s animation class. Thanks!

    I really like your photos by the way.

    http://mandomtz.wordpress.com/2010/06/21/rtf-344m-particle-animation/

    June 21, 2010 at 3:04 pm

Leave a Reply

