Shoot Candids…Part 2

We were staying with friends in Rockport, TX this past summer.  As some of us were standing on the second-story porch my wife called out, “Mike, get the camera quick!”.  I quickly captured this shot with our Rebel XT.  It tells of a 19-year-old boy loving his young adopted brother.  The younger brother feels safe walking with his older brother…you get the idea.  It’s a special photo.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4051501953/

Brothers (click to view on flickr)

Sometime back I wrote about capturing candids even when you are posing your subjects.  I also wrote about being ready with the camera.  As I was looking through some old pictures recently, I found myself being reminded over and over to take plenty of candid shots.  These often end up being our family favorites.

Here are a few other candids which have become favorites.  They aren’t necessarily the best technical or artistic shots but they’re personally meaningful because of the moment they captured

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4051486467/

Searching... (click to view on flickr)

My son spent hours on this little piece of Rockport waterfront picking up “stuff”.  I have no idea what he was finding but he sure had a good time.  It was very cute to see the intensity with which he scoured the sand.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4052520990/

Friends at the Pass (click to view on flickr)

My wife and I are blessed with a set of very close friends.  Over the summer five couples took a trip to Montana and simply had a blast.  One afternoon we drove to Bear Tooth Pass (see a great image of what we were looking at here in Justin Kern’s photos) and got out to walk around.  I was snapping photos here and there and as I turned back to the group I saw them in this pose.  I said, “Freeze” and took this shot.  It’s one of the images I revisit regularly and it reminds me of a great time with friends.

Shoot tons of photos and you’ll capture some good ones.  Of course, be ruthless when you’re committing them to your hard drive — throw out the junk.  You’ll be glad you didn’t hesitate to click the shutter.

Leave a Reply

