Multiples

The shot above didn’t turn out quite as cool as I’d hoped but it’s fun nonetheless.  While out on a photo walk on the University of Texas campus I set up my camera on my tripod as the photographer crowd gathered on the steps of the UT Tower.  As people milled around I captured shots in a semi-regular cadence.  My idea was to capture people in different positions and mask them together in Photoshop.  When I uploaded my photos to my computer it turned out that I really didn’t capture enough frames.  For example, look at the guy in the red jacket.  He probably wandered all around the scene but in reality I only capture him in a few spots.  There are a couple of people who did appear in widely varied positions around the scene.

The photo above was captured at the base of the UT Tower, a prominent 307-foot building on the University of Texas campus.  A couple other views of the UT Tower are shown below.

3 responses

  1. Cool idea Mike, I like it

    April 16, 2012 at 12:02 pm

  2. Multiple exposures are fun…and time consuming! I like this one and once you notice the duplication it becomes fun to unwind. I see what you are saying with perhaps more shots.

    April 16, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    • Yep…I just should have camped out longer and kept pressing the shutter. I probably took 12-15 shots but it wasn’t quite enough to capture all the wandering. At least the little concept I had in mind was proven out…

      April 17, 2012 at 10:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers