Almost Time For Ice Skating

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5182946859/

Learning to Skate 73mm, f/2.8, 1/400s

It’s finally getting (almost) chilly here in Texas and I’m glad for it.  I know that after a couple of really cold days I’ll be longing for the heat of summer again and I definitely prefer the heat over the cold.  I don’t miss those Chicago winters I experienced growing up.

The cold reminded me of the ice skating our kids got to do in Fredericksburg last winter.  Just off Main Street in Market Square (Marktplatz) there was a very small rink set up for a week or two and the kids gave skating a try (the older ones already know how to skate).  Despite my love for skating (I grew up playing pick-up hockey in the winters) I sat out  and photographed the occasion.  I’m sure I had back problems, knee problems, or some other old-man thing going on at the time else I would have been skating.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/5183546522/

Portrait 20mm, f/3.5, 1/400s

The shot at the top of the post has a great Norman Rockwell look to it.  That effect was all done in Lightroom and then I use Photoshop to tweak a few areas.  The portrait of my daughter was processed in Lightroom and got some ‘clarity’ added and a lot of adjustment brush to manually tone down the sunny spots and the like.  Both shots got a bit of noise reduction in Photoshop (applied sparingly to the Norman Rackwell image).

3 responses

  1. Nice shots Mike! Love the Rockwell one. You have a nice looking family btw…

    November 16, 2010 at 10:23 pm

  2. Awesome. Didn’t know you could skate in TX! :) Looking forward to winter myself… nothing beats skiing and hockey! :)

    November 16, 2010 at 10:46 pm

  3. Beautiful shots! May I link to your blog post from the Facebook and Twitter sites of Fredericksburg Convention and Visitor Bureau?

    We are about to open the ice skating rink again this year, and your blog entry and photos capture the emotion kids feel when they ice skate for the first time. I’d like to share that with our followers, if I may.

    Thanks for your consideration.

    Laura
    Fredericksburg CVB

    http://www.facebook.com/fredericksburgtx

    http://twitter.com/visitfredtx

    November 17, 2010 at 2:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers