A Most Blessed Event

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4840065382/

The First Dance

I got to second-shoot my nephew’s wedding in Seattle a few weeks ago.  Since I wasn’t responsible for the primary set of photos I spent my time experimenting and attempting to get some unique images.  When the main photographer was using a normal lens, I mostly used my 10-20mm or my 70-200mm.  If she was using a telephoto, I typically went normal or wide, etc.  My goal was to capture things from a different angle (literally and figuratively) and get a different perspective on this blessed event.

For the shot at the top of the post I used my 10-20mm from about a foot off the ground.  This was the bride and groom’s first dance and I shot the whole thing from that angle.

The shot below of the groom and his mother (my sister-in-law) was taken with a focal length of 200mm.  It was tough getting this shot framed when zoomed in this tight on a moving couple.  However, since the main photog was getting the normal shots I just went with it and hoped it worked.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4839436381/

The Groom and His Mother

As it got darker, things got tough.  There was almost no light where the dancing was taking place.  I shot with my widest aperture (f3.5 on the 10-20mm I used for most of these shots), bumped the ISO up, and then dragged the shutter a lot to get at least some ambient light from the background [I could write a whole post on how I played with flash/ISO/shutter/etc].  Here’s a shot from the dance floor well after dark:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4839442227/

Serenading the Bride

I had a great time, and while I certainly had to cull many images from the set, I ended up with many good images for the bride and groom to enjoy the rest of their lives.

5 responses

  1. I’m glad to see you had a chance to do this. I was lucky to first shoot my parents’-in-law 50th wedding celebration a few weeks ago. It’s similar to a wedding, if less epic in scale, and I think I did a fine job, learned much, and had a lot of fun. I’d love to get a chance to second shoot with a pro. It looks like you did your family a service and had fun yourself.

    July 29, 2010 at 6:56 am

  2. yycofee

    That’s some fine work Michael! Looks like a great event and from what you posted here it looks like you got some fantastic images, well done!

    July 29, 2010 at 8:12 am

    • Thanks, guys! I certainly had fun with it and would love to shoot more weddings.

      August 2, 2010 at 9:51 pm

  3. The first image is killer. Such a fun photograph with a wonderful emotion.

    August 23, 2010 at 9:54 am

    • Thanks, Andy. That’s exactly why I like it — it captures their joy IMO.

      August 24, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers