Missing the Sunsets

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4755381899/

Another Backyard Sunset

We’ve been getting a ton of rain this week thanks to the relative proximity of Hurricane Alex and the fact that we’re on the north side of it.  I’m very glad for the rain, thanking God for it each time I look out the window, but I wouldn’t mind seeing a few more peeks of the sun.

In light of that (no pun intended) I decided to post this sunset image that I took sometime back.  Nothing fancy — a picture of my son in our backyard as the sun heads to the horizon.  I never get tired of seeing sunsets and am tempted to get the camera out for each one of them.  It’s a run-of-the-mill 3-exposure HDR with some basic adjustments.

Speaking of rain, some of our family is headed to Seattle for a wedding next week.  I’m reminded of the classic saying “I spent the summer in Seattle — both days were sunny”.  I’m also reminded of a joke I heard sometime back that goes something like this:

A man moved to Seattle from sunny California and of course, it was raining.  It rained the next day, and the next…and the next.  After 7 or 8 straight days of rain he was wondering if it would ever stop.  He asked a young boy passing by, “Does it ever stop raining here?!?”.  To which the boy answered, “How should I know?  I’m only six…”.

2 responses

  1. backlitpxl

    Love that photo, especially the flare. Congrats!

    July 2, 2010 at 6:08 pm

  2. Great flare! the joke is awesome too !!

    July 3, 2010 at 10:47 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers