Warmth of a Friend’s House in HDR

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michaeltuuk/4349877630/

A Friend's House Is Always Warm (click to view on flickr)

I really like watching football (and many other sports).  However, I find myself watching less and less and I’ve decided this is a good thing as it gives me much more time to do “stuff”.  It gives me more time to interact with friends and family.

New Year’s Day has historically been a football and food feast for me but this year we just hung out with friends in Fredericksburg.  We ice skated, ate a lot of food, and jawed.  Enjoyed it immensely.  Talked about subjects ranging from family to faith to photography.  Just enjoyed the fellowship and I didn’t miss the football at all.

The image above was made from three exposures tonemapped in Photomatix, blended with the ’0′ exposure somewhat (and a teeny, tiny bit of the -2 exposure to squelch a few blown-out highlights).  Played with contrast and some sharpening in Lightroom.  I could have easily brought out much detail from the shadows but the real scene was full of dark shadows.  The warmth of this room is intense — lots of warm lighting on all the reds and yellows in the room, with a warm fire adding to the light.

2 responses

  1. Your processing looks great

    February 14, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    • Thanks very much! I enjoyed working on this one.

      February 27, 2010 at 11:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers